Newb trying to decide

Show off your work! Anything from final results to full start-to-finish project journals.

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2021 1:30 pm
I just purchased an 01' Miata MX5. Decent condition but 1 of the previous owners did a respray on the passenger side of the car. It looks pretty good but the hood, trunk lid, and nose piece are either peeling (flat surfaces), or have small damage. I feathered the hood and trunk, and there is a repair done (by someone) on the rear drivers side quarter and it is left with bare metal, and bondo. Im a noob at his and thought i'll just spot fix it. But now I'm thinking I'll just scuff the good paint and respray and clear. And "prime, seal" the hood, trunk lid, and top of the drivers door (where sweaty arms have destroyed the paint while cruisin'. Here's the dilemma; should I just prime the whole car and respray new surfacer or primer; then a couple coats of base and gloss? I've been watching videos on YouTube for weeks and am now toughly confused! What do you think? Pics to come. Too old and low tech. Oh yeah The car is BRG (Mazda calls it Emerald and Grace)
-Ken

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2021 6:02 pm
Pictures will help.
If you haven't sprayed before then the tools, compressor, regulators, filtration and set up are going to cost you considerably. Then there's the paint costs.

Here's 1990 Miata I restored for someone.
Front Right View Finished.JPG

The complete thread is in the Member's Projects section if you're interested.
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2021 8:59 pm