Roof hole repair ... Wife's 67 Camaro

Show off your work! Anything from final results to full start-to-finish project journals.

Fully Engaged
USA
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:16 am
I have never gotten too deep into body patch work and especially all on my own.

Looking for advise here that might be helpful in the future ... below is a small job I did and some narrative on what I did. It's too late to change any of this now, but I am a rookie for sure and could use any input about better ways to go about things for future projects.

(Disclaimer: I know I went a lot further on this than I should have with the chrome trim in place, I didn't have the tool to remove it when I started and just got a bit carried away.)

My wife's Camaro had a crack in the paint above the W/S pillar for as long as we have owned the car. I always knew I'd be getting into a full on paint job one day so I never worried about it too much. Once I began grinding some problem areas on the rear quarter I decided to take the grinder up front before I stopped work one day.

I couldn't believe how thick the bondo was and I finally hit a wad of fiberglass cloth which had been crammed in there to hold back the flow of filler ...Once it was cleaned up this is what I had.

I formed a patch from some suitable sheet metal I had on hand using the top of the car as a mold. It took me a little time to decide how to make it using only one piece of steel

I then cut the roof out to match the outer edge of the patch panel so it could sit flush with the roof line. I then tweaked the patch as needed to get the best fit I was capable of.

This is the patch in the opening ... it's the last PIC I have of the patch job.

It is all welded in and actually looks quite good ... I'll make an effort to get a PIC of the finished off weld job today and get it posted here as well.

Settled In
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:35 am