How do I mold my Lip to my front Bumper?

Anything goes in the world of fiberglass and plastic

Settled In
PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 1:33 pm
I purchased a fiberglass "gfx" lip for my front bumper on my Mazda 6. Dry fitment shows some gaps which when pushed tight against the bumper make good fitment.

Which is the best way mold this into my bumper before painting? Which products should I use?

If I had to guess....I would need to strip the paint off the bumper before mounting, use an epoxy glue, some filler to fix any gaps...primer then paint?

I am a newbie, so please excuse my lack of terminology.

Below are some pictures of the lip itself. Any help is highly appreciated.

Newbie...

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 10:30 pm
Did your manufacturer provide a product sheet with that piece? Since it is specifically for your Mazda 6 you should have instructions which will tell you not only how it should be attached (plastic rivets, etc.) but also tell you if a gluing is even recommended. Since that is fiberglass I would think it is being attached to an existing piece of metal which already may be up under the bumper shroud. Hopefully, you won't be trying to graft that fiberglass on to the plastic bumper cover. If that would be the case I'm not a big fan of "grafting" dissimilar materials like this in an area where you know it's going to take hits. Bumper flexs, fiberglass not so much= cracking, delaminating, etc.
Metal, wood, fiberglass, we work it all... www.furniturephysicians.com We can restore the irreplaceable!

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 7:57 am
I've seen and completed multiple molds on front bumpers.. Molded front lips to fiber glass, carbon fiber, metal..