Color change only on platci bumper cover

Anything goes in the world of fiberglass and plastic

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2021 10:28 am
Hi all, novice here. I am replacing the bumper cover on my SUV.

I went to great pains to get one in near 'perfect' condition. no cracks in the paint, scuff, scars, dents, nothing. Except its dark red. I need black.

A friend told me I need to sand with 60 grit all the way down, and put some kind of 'poxy' I think. Then prime and topcoat, and clearcoat.

I have done some reading and I have a few questions for the experts.

I have read some paints cant go over other types of paint, how do I know what paint in on the cover?

Do I need to sand it all the way to plastic, or just 'scuff' sand?

If all I want is to change the color, can't I just paint over the existing paint?

The single, double, and triple stage painting is terribly confusing. I think I want to top coat and clear separately. Does it matter?

Sorry for the 'noob' questions. I just couldn't search out all the answer I need, and my experience is spray can to prevent rust.

Thanks

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2021 6:21 am
skippy wrote:Hi all, novice here. I am replacing the bumper cover on my SUV.

I went to great pains to get one in near 'perfect' condition. no cracks in the paint, scuff, scars, dents, nothing. Except its dark red. I need black.

A friend told me I need to sand with 60 grit all the way down, and put some kind of 'poxy' I think. Then prime and topcoat, and clearcoat.

I have done some reading and I have a few questions for the experts.

I have read some paints cant go over other types of paint, how do I know what paint in on the cover?

Do I need to sand it all the way to plastic, or just 'scuff' sand?

If all I want is to change the color, can't I just paint over the existing paint?

The single, double, and triple stage painting is terribly confusing. I think I want to top coat and clear separately. Does it matter?