New Project - First Time with Fiberglass

Anything goes in the world of fiberglass and plastic

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2021 8:49 pm
Y'all were quite helpful with my TR6 project, which is wrapped up, or as wrapped up as any 45 British Car.

So I have purchased a 1981 Van Diemen Formula Ford (an open wheel race car) to take vintage racing. It's in wonderful mechanical shape, but the seller had an off in the spring, and the fiberglass got scratched up pretty badly.

I learned a lot on the TR6 (and a lot of what not to do). This is a race car, and will be chipped, covered in racing rubber, like run off track on occasion, etc. It's never going to run at Goodwood.

I'm no fiberglass expert, but I believe the black is gel coat not paint, and the red is paint. The scratches are through the gel coat. I may or may not go back with Black. I've got most of the logbooks, and may go back to one of the earlier liveries for the car.

Pics of the "before" and some pictures of the scratched pieces are attached.

I'm thinking single stage for the ease of repaint. But need some advice on prep before I shoot a primer and single stage. I'm not sure where to start because of the gel coat.

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2021 9:08 pm
my late brother-in-law use to repair fiberglass boats. i remember him spraying jell coat on the outsides of some of the boats they always looked good .
Jay D.
they say my name is Jay

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2021 10:56 pm