tape designs

Discuss custom painting, artwork and airbrushing

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:49 pm
so as some of you all know im new to alot of this as we all were at one time.
ive got a 12 inch by 18 inch panel that i have a flake base coat on and its clear coated ready for some practice art work..

so what are some simple tape designs to start out with to do?
i know its a silly question but i thought i would give it a shot .
i am pondering to much on what to start out with lol and my mind is going blank..
i can picture some things in my head but cant just seem to get it down on the panel lol.
im not very artistic and i cant freehand to save my life lol..

what are some designs yall started out with ?

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2021 10:56 pm
So, I'm kind of lucky. My aunt was a portrait studio airbrush artist, my cousin is a pro pinstriping and freehand graphics illustrator, my mom was a floral designer and sketch artist, etc. I can usually translate what is in my head into something decent on a surface. Something that helped me somewhat with getting tape designs down was first using stencil flame patterns like the True Fire stuff. These are free domain ones that you can download and cut out yourself.....https://chuckbauman.com/free-realistic- ... plates.htm By doing some air brushing with these I could then "see" how to make symmetrical patterns. It helped a lot. I once did a lightning storm effect over a marbleized effect on an air cleaner. It was a combo of some tape layout and using those stencils...... You might consider taking a beginning art/drawing class at a community college or even just a workshop..... Tamco, for instance, has training classes every now and then with many popular artists brought in to their manufacturing facility.
Metal, wood, fiberglass, we work it all... www.furniturephysicians.com We can restore the irreplaceable!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2021 11:09 pm