Candy Concentrate: Powdered Versus Liquid???

Any questions about tools or supplies. Post your compressor/gun questions here.

Fully Engaged

USA
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 8:52 am
I have been using powdered candy concentrate from Didspade for a couple of years now. I have done several small projects just figuring out how to use an airbrush, fades, shading, templates, how to get that 3D look. So far this powdered stuff has been great for the learning process as it is inexpensive, mixes easy enough, and I haven’t experienced any fading. But… my projects have not been exposed to the sun much, so resistance to fading remains a question.

My next project is a complete motorcycle. I’ve been working on ideas and sketches for probably 6 months already. I don’t want to spend 6 months airbrushing something fantastic in candy over metal flake just to have it fade and look like crap in 6 months. That would suck.

So…. From what I have read the color fastness of candy has more to do with the UV protection of the clear over it. Is there any truth to this? Anyone have long term experience with powdered candy concentrate? Or should I just pony up the $500 to get the 9 colors of liquid concentrate I would need from HOK, SEM, or similar?

Any input is appreciated.

Top Contributor
USA
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 11:45 am
Bob the color fastness will depend on both color of the Kandy and the UV of the clear.
personaly never used powder kandy.
Experienced Trained Certified

SATA Spray Equipment Germany
Axalta ChromaBase Elite Standox Imron 5000 6000
PPG Delfeet Deltron Global Matthews
Sherwin Williams Ultra 7000 Genesis
Valspar DeBeer LIC
Akzo Nobel Sikkens Lesonal

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 10:18 pm