When gun nozzle size range is specified- you choose….?

Any questions about tools or supplies. Post your compressor/gun questions here.

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2017 8:53 am
Hello: I’m a newbie to auto paint (have sprayed lots of nitrocellulose lacquer), and have more equipment than experience at this point. You pull the data sheet on a paint, and you see the nozzle range specified as shown- 1.4-1.7. In this case, it’s mixed as a primer surfacer.

Given the range specified and you having a full range of guns of various nozzle sizes, you then-

1. Grab any gun in the range specified, 1.4 is as good as 1.7 because it is within the range specified.

2. Recognize this is primer surfacer and likely a bit more viscous, and decide to use the larger size in the range to compensate for the viscosity

I ask because I infer an expert can make any nozzle in the range specified work, but a newbie might be better off at one end of the range or the other. I’ve been collecting guns at this point (some will end up on the used market after I figure out what works best for me) and have

Tekna Prolite compliant gun with 1.2, 1.3, 1.4 nozzles
Sharpe FX3000 HVLP with 1.3, 1.4
Summit Racing HVLP primer gun 2.0

I’m wondering about getting a gun with 1.7 nozzle for this type of situation. Is this just a waste of money given what I already own, or is getting something in between the 1.4 and 2.0 range advisable to cover most materials?
Thanks, Dean
Attachments
Nozzle Range.JPG

Top Contributor
USA
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:25 am
sounds like you got the right idea

i might use a 1.4 on a smaller spot that might be sanded with 180

might grab a 1.8 on a few panels or a complete i might even go to a 1.8 / 2.0

they key to success really is achieving the proper mil thickness so pick the gun that you can do that with
Experienced Trained Certified

SATA Spray Equipment Germany
Axalta ChromaBase Elite Standox Imron 5000 6000
PPG Delfeet Deltron Global Matthews