New paint gun for Christmas

Any questions about tools or supplies. Post your compressor/gun questions here.

Settled In

Canada
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 6:51 pm
As a painter I guess I`m a notch above novice, some experience but lots still to learn. I`ve had it with my crappy Vaper gun and am looking for something I can use as I hopefully get better at this. So I`ve been hunting around and doing lots of reading and I`m leaning toward the Devilbiss Finishline 4 FLG-670 mostly because of the good name, it comes with 1.3,1.5 and 1.8 tips and it seems to get pretty positive reviews. But the reviews from this forum carry a lot more weight so wondering if you guys would care to comment? Good, bad, meh?
Thanks,
Chris

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:07 pm
Check the CFM requirements for this gun and make sure your compressor is up to the task.
The HVLP model takes 13 CFM if I remember correctly. If you have the compressor this gun should work real good for you.
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Top Contributor
Australia
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:53 am
The FLG5 is Reduced Pressure and uses way less air than the FLG4. Finish quality is much better as well.

Buy it here.

Reviews here.
Chris

Settled In
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:36 am
IMG_5217.JPG

This year I just finished painting my 55 Ford Fairlane. If you visit hotrodreverend.com there is a very detailed series of blog posts that include pictures, videos, and all kinds of information. The relevancy to your question concerns the paint gun, Devilbiss FLG4. When you read my blog posts (some of my comments and questions can be found elsewhere here on the forum) don't laugh. The finish of a "driveway" paint job as it were turned out much better than I thought.