Grain Bin Booth Idea

Any questions about tools or supplies. Post your compressor/gun questions here.

Non-Lurker

Canada
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 2:55 pm
Hello, not sure if I'm posting this in the right spot. I'm currently trying to rack my brain for paint booth ideas that'll be relatively cheap and functional. I live in an agricultural community and it seems like old galvanized grain bins are cheap and pretty abundant. Would be similar to the attached photo. 14 foot diameter by 10 feet high, steel floor. Seems to me it wouldn't be too hard to make a decent booth with one. I'd be thinking of putting it on a frame to keep it off the ground and make room for a ventilation duct. I'd need to engineer a some type of door that I could get body panels in and get it to seal up well. Also need to consider cfm requirements, filtration and how fans need to be situated. Will more than likely be getting a fresh air mask for breathing air.

Anyone have any insight? I'm pretty new to the paint world and really just need somewhere safe and clean to spray panels or a cab, wouldn't need anything big enough to pull a vehicle into. I've done a fair amount of research on homemade booth designs but it seems like this idea is a bit unique due to its shape. Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks
Attachments
grain bin.jpg

Top Contributor
USA
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:20 am
14' diameter? Doesn't sound big enough for most cars
JC.

(It's not custom painting-it's custom sanding)

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 11:18 am