Maybe Time For A New Gun--Recomendations??

Any questions about tools or supplies. Post your compressor/gun questions here.

No Turning Back

USA
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2020 4:41 pm
Hi Guys,

Been a few yrs since posting and need some advice. Been using a cheapo Eastwood Concourse 51550 gun for a few yrs. After alot of practice I have finally been able to do nice bc/cc of small pieces (motorcycle fenders,tanks ect.). I'm no pro but at this point, I can do at least a factory quality job. Would like to work my way up to complete cars once I retire next year.

Now, for the question, my gun is leaking air at the spot where the needle goes into the head (sorry if my terminology is incorrect). Common sense tells me I need a rebuild kit but after talking to Eastwood, the gun and parts are discontinued. I'd also like to get a 1.5 needle/nozzle kit for it. Looked at Ebay and Amazon but no luck on parts, or even a complete gun. I like the gun and since it only needs 4.5 cfm, my small compressor kept up (for the work I am doing). So, with all my rambling.......what gun would you guys recommend in the sub $300 range. I know my compressor is holding me back from big jobs but eventually we will have a good dual stage unit so I am hoping that I'll be fine on the small stuff I do since a decent gun will take more than the 4.5 cfm I am using now. Thoughts??

Top Contributor
Australia
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2020 10:22 pm
1. Decent quality
2. Uses less than 4.5 CFM
3. Under $300

Pick any two from the above.

There is almost nothing that will satisfy all these and which is why we tend to recommend brand name guns. Had you had a Devilbiss/SATA/Iwata the chances are that spares would still be available for a gun the same age as the one you have.

If you get yourself a compressor that has around 17CFM capacity you'll be able to do all the jobs that you'll need to do later on and open up a whole range of gun options.
Chris

No Turning Back

USA
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2020 10:44 pm