spray gun 1.4 tip

Any questions about tools or supplies. Post your compressor/gun questions here.

Fully Engaged
USA
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2023 3:30 pm
reading thru posts here I'm planning to purchase my paint gun with a 1.4 tip due to a few experienced here have said they use a 1.4 tip for base coat and clear.

I am all about quality and really want to get a high quality spray gun within reason on cost. especially reading here how much better clear sprays with the right gun.

so heres the common question again: what spray gun do you experts use or reccomend?

to keep this within reason I would like to spend $600 max. I hope thats enough for a decent one.
Eric

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2023 4:32 pm
I'm not an expert but have restored and painted a few vehicles that you can see in the Members Projects Section.

My go to gun for epoxy primer, base coat and clear coat is an Iwata LPH400 Silver Cap 1.4 tip.

I also have a DeVilbiss Tekna Copper with a 1.3 and 1.4 tip set. It has a larger cup and spray pattern and does a great job but it seems I tend to grab the Iwata most often.

For 2k build primer and Polyester primer, I use an Air Gunsa AZ3 HTE2 which has a 2.0 tip.
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Fully Engaged
USA
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2023 9:25 pm
[quote="'68 Coronet R/T"]I'm not an expert but have restored and painted a few vehicles that you can see in the Members Projects Section.

My go to gun for epoxy primer, base coat and clear coat is an Iwata LPH400 Silver Cap 1.4 tip.

I see the Iwata #5670 is a 1.4 tip but tip is the orange basecoat it says. is 1.4 the main thing or is there a difference in the silver and orange 1.4 tip?

it has reviews on spraying base and clear real well. thoughts?
Eric

Top Contributor
Australia
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2023 8:00 am
Buckwheat wrote:what spray gun do you experts use or reccomend?

to keep this within reason I would like to spend $600 max.

Two parts to your question, so two parts to my answer.