Cheap spray guns....worth it?

Any questions about tools or supplies. Post your compressor/gun questions here.

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:19 am
Would something like this be usable just for occasional priming and painting?

I'm just starting out, and still in school so funds are limited..
Trying to get into the trade soon...so wanna save as much $$ as possible...

Non-Lurker
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:33 pm
I bought the following hvlp spray gun at harbor freight and it works very good for the price.
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Displayitem.taf?itemnumber=43430

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 5:27 pm
Hey racer did it come with a tip?
Size?
And do you use it for primer to cc?

No Turning Back
PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:30 am
Mine came with a 1.4 tip. I've used it for everything but I am moving it back to a primer only gun and adding a Sharpe for my finish gun. Two reasons: my needs have become a little more sophisticated and it just takes too much work to get it spotlessly clean of primer before using it for something else.

Non-Lurker
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 10:52 pm
The HF gun came with a 1.4 tip. I've used it mainly for primer, but i shot some acrylic enamel with it the other day and works good. I also bought a bigger cup for it awhile back. I've never sprayed bc/cc. but i'm going to learn pretty soon. I use a Devilbiss Finishline III gun primarily.

No Turning Back
PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 2:25 am
Questions about the Harbor Freight HVLP Gravity feed gun seen to crop up all the time so I got curious.