How to start estimating?

A place for professionals to network and discuss the business and technology inside the shop.

Settled In

Canada
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 6:08 pm
Hi to everyone, I'm new to the site and have to say this is a great place. I have been doing autobody/paint for 14 years. I work for a family business that my father has operated for the past 32 years.I am currently the head bodyman/painter and am planning on taking over the business in the near future. My problem is that i don't do any estimating just the labour part of things and don't know much about estimating. My father usually just estimates in his head how much labour it takes and the cost of materials and calls the dealer for exact part prices. I don't know where to start. Any advice would be appreciated. :rockon:

Top Contributor
USA
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 7:45 pm
Do yourself a favor and GO TO SCHOOL"! I cant emphasize this enough!
It would take a long time for your father to teach you this part of the business,,,and its changing all the time......
"The number of parasites in the USA has now eclipsed the number of productive members of society"

Capt Rick Hiott.
www.reelfishhead.com

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:43 pm
Oh my god I lived through that it's not the way to run a business.
1. old cars or projects Time plus Matirial always
2. Like the old guy said call ADP estimating or try other companies. If you use there software (computer estimating) they usually have a school you can go to for free. its worth it you have to make money to stay in buisiness
And dont try to be a cheap shop I made more money by sticking by the rates. worked less hours and better work.
If you write your estimates by the book you can pay your employees comission they will be happier and do better work.