big question. Pay rate for a starter at a body shop??

A place for professionals to network and discuss the business and technology inside the shop.

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:15 am
Ok guys, i attended an auto body trade school , it was okay.. not the best but i have learned just a few things than i didnt know before. After i graduated, i was dropping off my resume at shops and i got referred to a shop and i showed him my resume and immediately got hired. My first day i started buffing and my boss asked, what should i pay you? i dont even know what the rate is at anymore? he said i will give you $8.50 an hour and so i said ok sure why not? he doesnt know what i can do. So after a week comes by, it was pay day, he told me i worked my butt off and that i should get paid $10 an hour. Im a helper/apprentice and i do the same thing the other guys do cause im helping them. I think i should ask for a better pay rate... Any ideas if thats a good idea? i think i deserve more than $10 an hour. My boss is a really cool guy, hes not an ****, hes a really cool guy and funny guy too. He will let me take off any day i want to if i tell him in advance timing, we joke around all the time, and he just recently gave me a nice shop jacket for christmas.

Things i do- wet sand, buff, mix filler, apply filler, sand filler, pull dents with stud gun, assembling and disassembling parts, washing cars, drilling out spot welds. Theirs definitely more to list but i cant think out of my head right now, i can honestly paint good, i can mix primer, clear coat, and base coat. I can paint those as well, i can blend as well. And my boss doesnt know that i can do that too. I've been their for atleast a month and a half.

Site Admin
USA
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 12:57 pm
welcome to the site.

A lot of what you are asking depends on the local market. I'm in Eastern NY, 90 minutes north of NYC.