Tips / Tricks for starting a business

A place for professionals to network and discuss the business and technology inside the shop.

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:53 pm
so do any of you guys have any tips or tricks as to starting a body shop?
I'll be graduating next year and I just recently got a job at a body shop and am starting to learn everything, I have decided that this is what I want to do. I really love working on vehicles and stuff so ... I plan on starting my own shop sometime after I graduate.
Learning How To Learn

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:33 am
any suggestions anyone?
Learning How To Learn

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 11:55 pm
I'll give the best advice anyone can give you, take some BUSINESS courses!

I was a good bodyman, I was a good painter, I was a good people person and could work well with vendors, insurance reps, etc. But that is only the begining. A good bodyman makes does not mean he makes a good business man, it means he makes good repairs on cars, those are TWO TOTALLY DIFFERENT THINGS. I lasted 13 years of floundering in and out of making any money.

Most good bodymen who open body shops don't last, they end up working for someone again. They think because they know how to fix cars and that they own a few tools they can make a business. When actually, what they really have is the basis for working somewhere as an employee. And don't let anyone tell you the autobody repair business is so different from other businesses. Sales are sales, I don't care if it is a grocery store, a cat house or a body shop.

Take a number of business and economic courses and then think about starting a body shop business.

Brian
Free lance adviser

"Hitting the pavement at 100 mph really smarts"
Evel Knievel

Settled In
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 7:03 pm