*HOW Do I PRICE Paintjobs*

A place for professionals to network and discuss the business and technology inside the shop.

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2022 9:03 pm
Hello All, 24 and fairly new to the industry. Currently working in a shop and want to begin building personal portfolio outside of work. I would like to turn this into a business in the future. I’m lost on how to price jobs and materials. (dents, spot jobs, overalls, etc.) what’s the best methods for pricing? I was think like a flat rate of maybe 800-1000 for spraying paint only between cars and trucks because I’m just starting out. Then of course adding more for cut in’s and body work. All help is appreciated.
Last edited by bigrondae on Tue Mar 01, 2022 10:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2022 9:20 pm
I moved your post here because this is more of a business question than a "how to" question.

When you go into business for yourself, are you planning to do insurance repairs and quick fix items or full blown restorations?
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2022 9:46 pm
'68 Coronet R/T wrote:I moved your post here because this is more of a business question than a "how to" question.

When you go into business for yourself, are you planning to do insurance repairs and quick fix items or full blown restorations?

I plan to focus on older model cars. With a few quick repairs

Top Contributor
Australia
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2022 8:37 am
bigrondae wrote: I’m lost on how to price jobs and materials. (dents, spot jobs, overalls, etc.) what’s the best methods for pricing? I