Gloss clear over flat black single stage

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2015 9:19 am
Here is my delima... I am a first time painter and didn't do enough research. Decided to go flat black on my 33 ford replica. After doing the research I should have done I realized that flat finish is not only tough to spray right, but hard to maintain. Right now I am at primer, with a gallon of the flat black (eastwood dead rat flat black) deciding to ditch the flat paint, leave it in primer or spray the flat. Now for the question... If I am not happy with the flat can I spray gloss clear over it and will it look like a base / clear coat or will it look off?

Here is my project....

I am only into the flat paint about $100 and don't think I have the skill yet to spray it right. I need something fairly easy and black to complete the all black theme, I need some advice. here are a few pics of the primed body.

Thanks for the help!

Brent

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:47 am
Without a nice paint booth the flat and matte paints are really tough to spray without getting dirt in them. To me it seems you cannot touch these finishes without imparting some shine in those areas. :splat:

For a nice project like that I would consider a deep black base and then shoot a matte clear over it, if that is the look you want.

This a 2007 Ford Ebony Black code UA

It has ********** Euro clear coat on it but the picture shows the depth of the black.

This is ********** black base with the same clear:
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

No Turning Back

USA
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2015 4:39 pm
********** looks like a truer black than the ford code paint. Correct?

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2015 5:11 pm
Its definitely true black if there is such a thing. I can't see any reddish brown or bluish tint to it like you can in most blacks.