primer color

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2018 10:17 pm
Hi I am a newbe please be gentle. I am a hobbyist restorer . I have painted a few cars in the past with great results . my new project is a 21 ft. travco RV fiberglass did the body work a primed in 2k gray. I am looking at paint base clear . it will be white with brown metallic stripe paint .manufacture requires black sealer for brown .white for white .can I lay a heavy coat of brown on gray primer then spray white all on gray primer thanks

Top Contributor
USA
PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:39 am
Of course you can.
If your primer makes a difference in the final color,
you're not putting enough paint on :!:
JC.

(It's not custom painting-it's custom sanding)

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:49 am
Coverage, coverage, coverage.....don't cheap out and buy a crap base coat.
Metal, wood, fiberglass, we work it all... www.furniturephysicians.com We can restore the irreplaceable!

Top Contributor
USA
PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:58 am
why would you spray so heavy of coats to cover ? now youre messing with mil thickness limits giving you a unsturdy paint job. you will end up using twice the amount of basecoat needed for the job, probably raising cost of the job.

if i was basecoating the RV i would seal the whole thing white put my white base down let that flash for a hour or two, lay out my stripes take some black basecoat and use that as my black undercoat for the stripe, two coats of brown unmask and clear the RV.

and no man dont pile and pile on basecoat because you have a bad undercoat color...

you could put 10 coats of red over gray primer and 2 coats of red over white and they will never match i dont care how much you pile on lol. use the proper undercoat buddy
Experienced Trained Certified

SATA Spray Equipment Germany
Axalta ChromaBase Elite Standox Imron 5000 6000
PPG Delfeet Deltron Global Matthews