Preparation with new EDP coated panels?

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:01 pm
Hi, I'm fairly new to the auto paint world but I'm undergoing a personal project to replace the hood and driver-side panel on my 2005 Audi A4. I've done a considerable amount of research on prepping but there's not a lot of info specifically for new panels as most are regarding restoration. Due to that, I feel I might be overthinking a lot so I'm hoping someone can help clear it up for me.

I just purchased and received new aftermarket panels (Hood and Fender) and they both state on the website that they are EDP coated. In that case, is it safe to go ahead and wetsand 320 grit, clean and apply primer sealer before heading onto the painting stages?

Thanks for any help!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:25 pm
Yes, I wet sand the new panels in 400, then epoxy and paint.

Fully Engaged
USA
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 6:20 pm
I would first read the tech sheet of the product you plan to apply to see what the manufacturer recommends for their product. For example: I use Matrix Epoxy and their tech sheet says to scuff thoroughly EDP coated panels with a 3M 7447 Scotchbrite pad and then apply epoxy primer.

Top Contributor
USA
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:39 pm
Make sure it's a true EDP by wiping the new part with a rag dampened with enamel reducer. If the primer comes off on the rag, you need to remove it all. If the rag stays clean you're OK.

Many overseas aftermarket mfgs simply coat the parts with lacquer primer to prevent flash rusting in transit and call it EDP...
"If you can't move it, paint it." - U.S. Army

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 10:40 pm
all good advice ^^^ I think he meant wipe with lacquer thinner, if its a lacquer base material the lacquer thinner will remove it.
Jay D.
they say my name is Jay

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:57 pm