Tinting a paint job possible?

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 11:43 am
Hello. I am a newb here and was had a question about a paint job I recently did on my Triumph tank. The Grey I choose for the job didnt come out exactly the shade I expected (swatch looked darker than actual color once sprayed).

My question is, is there any method anyone can suggest to get an overall darker shade to an overall paint job before I finish with clear coat? Will the clear coat itself make it darker?

I was thinking of possibly trying a tint spray made for taillights to get the desired look, or maybe even Plasti Dip smoke spray incase it doesnt turn out right I can just peel it off.

I dont absolutely hate the final outcome, but I dont love it either. Id live with it as opposed to respray and retaping just to get a darker color. So I figured Id ask here first.

I will post an image of the actual color of the gray, and a photoshopped desired look l was trying to get. Thanks in advance!
Attachments
current-desired.jpg
Left side is current look / Right side is the look I was going for (photoshopped)
Last edited by SimmerDown209 on Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:18 pm
How many coats of color did you shoot?
What was the color you painted over?
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:43 pm
Hello. I had 7 coats of black underneath (5 plasti-dip to preserve original paint, a 2 gloss black) , and 2 coats of the gray on the top.

Original color was Red white and black

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 3:39 pm
That's a lot of layers of material.
What brand paint are you using?