Basecoat BIG Problem

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

Canada
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 4:17 pm
Hi Guys,

Newbie here. Don't hate me...LOL.

So, I am painting my Taco, and have already done the box, and it went overall quite well. A small "hanger" in the paint that will be covered buy the box rail cap and on one side (the other was fine....weird....prolly gun control) I managed to create a lot of "curtains" that will likely take some careful attention, but can be dealt with (I THINK!).

Regardless of that, I am now doing the cab of the truck, and it is going REALLY poorly. Today, I tried to put on the basecoat, and my gun was doing the strangest things. Pattern on paper looked good, so got started, only to find out it STARTED good, but then it seemed like the fluid control opened right up, and I got a crap ton of runs, and WAY too much material in several spots. Tried to reset gun and keep going, but same thing happened.

In any case, I want to COMPLETELY go to a "re-do" position. That is to say, I cannot just "fix" the issues; I want to prep the panels to do a complete re-spray. I have found a crap ton of info doing searches, but the primary question I have, I cannot seem to find the answer to. That is, if I am to going to re-prep the ENTIRE area (full side of the cab) can I re-sand with 600 (I have read this is the finest grit to ensure adhesion) and how far do I re-sand down to. What I mean by this, is I already sanded out the runs, and as a result have burned thru to the primer/sealer under the paint. I would prefer NOT to go over everything right down to primer, but think I am still needing to sand the topcoat with 600 to get good adhesion.

Bottom line is to re-do, will I need to sand (presumably with maximum 600 grit) right down to the primer, or should I "scuff' the paint (keeping in mind, I have already burned thru to primer in some spots).