2k clear over urethane spray paint

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 8:37 pm
Ok, I know this isn't the right way to do any of this but it's my first time attempting this so I've learned more every search I've done. Perhaps I jumped in too soon as well.

I recently purchased a bike and the tank started leaking, that lead me to find some significant damage that had been covered up with body filler. I straightened what I could, patched the tank and filled it with body filler. I found the stock colors on colorrite.com and ordered their primer, and 3 stage aerosol paint system. Well then I learned automotive clear coat is catalyzed paint... After I painted and cleared the tank. It's a 1 part urethane aerosol clear coat. The whole thing turned out really great it's just not solvent resistant. So I want to turn around and out the 2k clear on it but I painted it 3 days ago.
Can I apply it straight on, will the solvents cause the previous coats to soften allowing the 2k to adhere? Do I can't first? If so, grit and wet or dry?
Can I do it at all or are the paints completely incompatible?
I've called colorrite to no avail and scoured many forums but nobody seems to have messed up as badly as I. I'm really hoping "start over" isn't the answer.
Attachments
20180616_154604.jpg
20180616_154538.jpg
20180616_101711.jpg
20180609_164056.jpg

Site Admin
USA
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 7:37 am
Putting a 2k clear over an aerosol clear is probably not going to be a good idea. The final result of a project is only as good as the weakest link in the overall process.

Additionally, you'll never get a great seal on the paint around the filler hole in the tank, and the underlying aerosol paint will likely be attacked by fuel vapors over time and will delaminate.

If it was my project and the bike was important to me, I'd chem strip what's on there now and redo it using traditional automotive refinishing products.