Want Opinions on Driver Car paint

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 10:17 am
I have an old car that I plan to show and drive. I plan to drive a lot to National shows, so it will pick up paint chips..

It is a metallic two tone.

What would be the best type of paint system to use?

I plan to use a Urethane

But

Single Stage, BaseCoat/ClearCoat

Solvent or Water Bourne??

or ??

Thoughts??
Fred

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:34 am
metallic two tone, B/C for sure. post some pictures, we like pictures especially old car pictures.
Jay D.
they say my name is Jay

No Turning Back
USA
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 2:16 pm
FStanley wrote:...What would be the best type of paint system to use?

I plan to use a Urethane

But

Solvent or Water Bourne??

Solvent or Waterborne will depend on what you are comfortable with, where you live and how much you want to spend.

I'm a rookie weekender hack that has shot waterborne once. Once I got the hang of it though, the stuff (PPG Envirobase) was awesome to work with in a color with both pearl and some fine metallic. But I am in Northern California, the humidity was very low and the temps were up. The flash times with those conditions were almost nothing.

The stuff was expensive though $$$.

Not sure what folks do with waterborne paint in high humidity areas like North Carolina.

I am sure others on this board with a lot more experience will chime in, the more info the better, like where are you located? Do you have a conditioned spray booth or a garage? Equipment? etc etc etc.
Sent by the random thoughts from the voices in my head...

No Turning Back
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:43 am