Noob looking for advice, tips and tricks

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2018 7:41 pm
This will likely be fairly long, just a warning. I’ve been working on my 65 Mercury Park Lane convertible for about 10 years and it’s time to move on. Unfortunately, I can’t get anyone to even come look at the car with it just in primer. The quotes I have gotten are pretty hilarious. Skip the next paragraph if you are not into funny stories.

One place, years ago, sort of a Maaco type place, quoted me $2k. I was thinking, for a cheap job, $500 for paint, $500 for prep would do it. I figured I could get it closer. 8 years later, after replaceing the trunk lid and spending hundreds of hours doing bodywork and sanding, they had changed owners. Took it to them the other day, they quoted me $4500. Another place I took it to quoted me $15k. “That’s insane.” I said. “Yeah, but the car will be worth $60k when it’s done.” I said, “Hey, easy then, you give me $30k for the car right now, you get paid $30k for the job when you sell it.” Of course he wasn’t interested. “Ok, how about $15k? You will make $45k.” I think that is when he asked me to leave. Maaco quoted me $2500 as did a local cheapo shop. I’ve got about $10k in the car. Way over budget really, but guys like me fix up old cars like this because they need to be saved, not to make money.

So, I decided to paint the car myself. There’s a break in part of the top frame that just happened recently, I know a guy who is a welder and will fix it for me for $50, but I was so upset when it broke, I put the car on craigslist for $6500, thinking it would sell right away, no reponses. The car has various primer all over it, needs a lot of sanding and finishing to some of the bodywork. I have time. I can do this stuff myself. Back problems prevents me from knocking it all out in a couple days, but I can do it.