Bumps in Clear coat

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 4:53 am
Hi guys I’m new to this forum, and need some help with my clear coat. I have been painting in my garage for quite a few years and have sprayed different brands of paint/clear. I’m getting many small bumps in my clear, doesn’t seem to be solvent pop and they will sand out with some work. They appear to be dirt nibs but I don’t know how. I am spraying transtar kwik gloss with the spot and panel activator and I’m only painting one panel at a time. I keep the ceiling and area clean and wet the floor before spraying. I drain my air compressor regularly and I’m running a filter right off the compressor, then a filter dryer combo. I even run a filter right at my gun. I wipe down the panel with wax and grease cleaner then tack cloth before painting,I tack cloth after my base coat also. I’m just tired of all the sanding and wanted some input. I will grab some pics tomorrow. I’m spraying with a Devilbiss gti by the way with a 1.3 tip. Any tips are appreciated I’ll get pics ASAP, thanks.

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 9:09 am
Post up your pic.s. The more we can "see" the more guys can help you here.......
Metal, wood, fiberglass, we work it all... www.furniturephysicians.com We can restore the irreplaceable!

Top Contributor
USA
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:33 am
i recently helped a guy with a dirt problem, i found that he was using blue shop towels to wax and grease, they leave a lot of lint. i had him blow the car off after wiping down wait 15-20 minutes for everything to settle then tack. he called me a few days later telling me it helped a lot. maybe you can try it as well. just use a adjustable gun and very lightly blow after wiping then wait 15-20 minutes to tack
Experienced Trained Certified

SATA Spray Equipment Germany
Axalta ChromaBase Elite Standox Imron 5000 6000
PPG Delfeet Deltron Global Matthews