Newbie, epoxy primer use

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

Canada
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:53 pm
I’m “restoring” a 1980 Mercedes G Wagon that has a lot of body rust. This is my first attempt at anything like this so I’m having to learn a bunch from the ground up. One thing that makes this difficult is that this vehicle is also my daily driver. Not ideal, I know. However, for the final finish, I’m not looking to make this a show car. It’s going to me mostly an off road vehicle so the paint finish does not have to look all that great. The only thing I really care about is preventing rust from coming back for a reasonably long period of time.

I have already started cutting out metal and welding new metal in and have tried various methods of sealing it until I can do a final paint job. I have tried self etching primer, corroseal, various “automotive” primer spray cans and short strand fiberglass. The only thing that seems to work well where rust isn’t showing through in a matter of a couple weeks is the fiberglass which I guess is to be expected as it’s waterproof. However, I have yet to sand it down and I’m realizing as I do, I’m going to expose bare metal again so I need another solution.

From what I understand I should be using an epoxy primer. My question is, would something like this be appropriate: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0043YP8EC/?tag=100568-20 ? These cans are single use correct as in once you use it, you must use all of it right away? Since I’m only doing parts of the car at a time, perhaps I’m better off with something like this: https://www.amazon.com/Epoxy-Primer-Sea ... B016QM67RU where I can mix just a small amount at a time? Can I brush this on or does it have to be sprayed?

I realize some of you will probably cringe at the way I’m doing this but thanks for any advice that’ll work with the constraints I have!

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:01 pm