Rocker Panel paint repair base coat has white cracks

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

Australia
PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2019 8:08 pm
Hi,

I had a few gutter rashes on my rocker panel so I did some research and tried to repair it myself. This is my first time but I'm pretty sure I've done the steps right but for some reason after applying the 2nd base coat I started to see white cracks in some places.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3wb65obq4vqvp ... 6.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/n43iud7i3woeu ... 6.jpg?dl=0

Here are the steps from the beginning:

1. Sand area with 80 Grit sand paper
2. Clean area with wax and grease remover and dry it
3. Apply Filler Primer: Apply 3 coats of Filler Primer (10 mins between each coat)
4. Sand with 120g then 240g
5. Apply 3 coats of Adhesion Primer (10 mins between each coat)
6. Wait 1 hour
7. Sand with 800 wet sand
8. Apply base coat (2 light + 1 heavy coats, 10 mins between each coat)
9. Wait 10 minutes
10. Scuff down any other area that needs clear coat
11. Apply clear coat (3 coats, 10 mins between each coat)

Where did I go wrong?

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2019 11:16 pm
what is the adhesion primer #5 your problem is the base coat didn't like something that was under it, most likely the old color coat. were the materials shaker cans?
Jay D.
they say my name is Jay

Non-Lurker

Australia
PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2019 12:22 am
badsix wrote:what is the adhesion primer #5 your problem is the base coat didn't like something that was under it, most likely the old color coat. were the materials shaker cans?
Jay D.

Yes everything was in aerosol cans. the adhesion primer was septone
https://vgautopaints.com.au/products/se ... tocomplete

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2019 11:39 am
that's where you went wrong. something you sprayed over wasn't compatible and caused lifting. this happens a lot when using a lacquer material over an un catalyzed enamel based product.