DIY paint job over old paint

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

Greece
PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 6:20 am
Hi and greetings from Greece.
I will try to pass you the situation I'm in...
I decide to paint my wife's car. I will use a 50lt - 2,5hl compressor & an LVLP gun (Sprayit SP-33000).
The problem is the previous paint that the car has. Let me explain:
Car bought used 6 years ago, with a cheap paint job on it (as it understand now).

Some panels have been dull over years. Tried to rub a small spot with acetone and it took off almost instantly (must be an oil based paint, right?).
Some panels are OK. Acetone rub does nothing to them.
One door have some spots with clear coat flaking. The basecoat on this spots took off almost instantly with acetone too (oil paint again? Is it possible to have a clear coat on it?)

As a newbie, I wanted to avoid priming the whole car and I want to prime only the spots needed. I also want to use a single stage paint - no clear coat, so I need advice on the process/products I should use.
I think that 2K Acrylic paint is a no go because of the old oil-based paint. Am I right?
The products I choose are from a Greek company named HB Body. Specifically at first I was thinking about using this 2K:
https://www.hbbody.com.gr/product/index.php?pid=105
but because of the old paint, I was thinking to use this (it is cheaper too but I am worried about durability and lasting):
https://www.hbbody.com.gr/product/index.php?pid=104

Thanks in advance for your time!!!

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 8:39 pm
Whether you paint over the existing paint or refinish the first thing you should do is wash the car. Then go over it with a wax and grease remover frequently changing rags. Any foreign substance especially waxes or polishes need to be removed from the surface.