New car paint protection recommendation..

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker
USA
PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 5:35 am
So my car is now '9605 Pre EU port of exit.' and the excitement is growing!!

I have been looking at getting a paint protection coating applied prior to collection. I have done a little research on here and Gtechniq seems to come highly recommended. So my question;

a) can anybody recommend a good Gtechniq approved detailer around the Plymouth area? (I am yorkshire based but have purchased the car from plymouth)

b) are there any other detailing products that compare / are worth looking at?

Thanks in advance, I have zero experience with detailing or paint protection and would like to keep my pride and joy pristine!

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:56 am
Not big on the net results of paint protection products. Find a good polymer based product, apply 2 to 4 times a year..... Best paint protection system? Garage at home after hours and driving to an enclosed parking garage during the daytime hours. Bought a 5 year old Corvette coming off lease where the guy did that everyday. Paint was like new. Said he just washed it now and then.....
Metal, wood, fiberglass, we work it all... www.furniturephysicians.com We can restore the irreplaceable!

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:45 pm
read NFT5's(chris') reply here:
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=27638

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 10:11 pm
:goodpost: as always. so what do you guys think of the ceramic coatings ? I have a 2010 GMC crew cab and when I bought it used about 3 years ago 60k mi. the dealer said it had a ceramic coating. all I have ever done to it is wash it with auto soap and water, it has the glossiest shine to it I have ever seen. no spots or streaks. I wipe the chrome off but the paint looks like it was just polished. i'm thinking about getting some for my new Toyota Highlander, so what do ya think?
Jay D.