Primer or sealer after sanding car in 220

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 3:44 pm
Hey guys, I'm a first time car painter and just finished sanding my entire car in 220 grit, and using bondo on any dents etc. I took extra care to go over every nook and cranny. Since the entire car is sanded, could I just use a sealer, scuff any rough areas with 400 then shoot base? Or should I shoot a primer and resand the whole thing? I'm using HOK Kd3000 and depending on my mixture of hardener and reducer it can either serve as a sealer or primer. Thanks guys! Also, if I go the sealer route, how long should I wait from shooting sealer to base?

Top Contributor
USA
PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 9:57 pm
I wouldn't depend on the KD3000 covering up 220 scratches when used as a sealer. Use it as a primer and sand it with p400 if final color is light; use p600 if color is a dark poly.

I doubt if a sealer coat is needed if you prep as above, but check the HOK p sheet. Recoat window is usually about 24 hrs.
:welcome:
"If you can't move it, paint it." - U.S. Army

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2019 9:47 am
Proper prep is what makes a good paint job.
You may think you have everything smooth as glass only to find when you spray your color and clear that things aren't that great.

Check out the top of the body and paint forum sticky posts. Read the one on using guide coat to make sure you are ready for paint.

There is a lot more involved in properly painting a car than most people realize.
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Top Contributor
USA
PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:23 am
Just my 2 Cents,

what kind of quality you hoping for ?

perfectly OK to seal over 220, i do it every day.