Advice on base coat repair before clear

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In
PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 7:06 pm
I am painting a new aftermarket bumper for a Mazda 3. Color is a charcoal metallic.

The bumper was prepped by thorough washing with detergent and a gray scotchbrite pad. After this I scoured it again with scuffing paste and rinsed all of that off. After the water dried I cleaned it with OMNI wax and grease cleaner and allowed that to dry. Then prepped the entire bumper with SEM adhesion promoter.

After this had flashed dry I applied PPG Deltron 2000 base coat. Everything went well on the smaller areas of the bumper, but on the top flatter areas I was getting stripes in the metallic finish. (I am a relative beginner).

I am spraying with an Astro spray gun I purchased years ago to spray furniture lacquer finishes. Anyway I determined that I apparently had too much fluid being fed and after dialing this down and narrowing the fan pattern a bit I was able to lay down a pretty smooth coat. However...all my fiddling with spraying resulted in the base coat going on too thickly in one area, and a small sag developed.

The day is late and I can't touch it tomorrow due to work, so it will have to sit beyond the 24 hour clear coat window.

My plan is to wet sand the sag with probably 400 grit, then follow this with a light sanding of the entire bumper with 600 grit wet. After that spray on hopefully one more very light coat of base to try to even out the metallic pattern better than before.

Please tell me if this is the correct plan of action? Any other suggestions are appreciated. I am also considering buying a somewhat better gun, but would like to try to finish this small project with what I have.