Epoxy primer reduction

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 12:27 pm
I am pretty new to paint and spraying. I recently purchased a primer, 5 Star Xtreme 5424 2k epoxy primer (https://www.paintforcars.com/product/xt ... ld-primer/)

I live in Texas, so the temperature on average is in the high 90's. I am at least able to paint in my garage, out of the sun, but given that the primer is intended for use at ~77 degrees, I have since discovered that my expected pot life of 2-3 hours being reduced to 30 mins is to be expected due to the heat. Even the batch I mixed up started to harden pretty quickly and I had a terrible time of it. I ended up with a textured primer like bed liner all over my truck (dry spraying, I believe it's called?). Started sanding, but feel like this could be done better. So here's my question:

Let's say I decide to sand a bit, get a little more of an even surface to respray this primer...can I add acetone or something else to reduce the primer and increase my working time, as well as increase likelihood that this stuff will lay down like it ought to? Some way to keep the primer from curing too fast and counter the heat? Any recommendations would be welcome. Thanks!

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 10:34 pm