Blending silver metallic

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2020 6:58 pm
Hey guys newbie here

My friend has a shopping cart damage dent on his door. The damage is two inches from the end of the door close to the driver door. I assume the driver door needs blending and clear all together. Someone else told me being the size of the damage I may not need to blend? I attached a picture of it
Attachments
B1DE023A-1D12-4E77-B28D-3CADDC719B53.jpeg

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2020 11:02 pm
you'll need to blend onto both doors. be sure to look at the alternate cards and get the best one. do this outside in the sunlight and shade at different angles. pay attention to the primer color on the car, this is what I go by and it always works. no more than you need pick a good quality base coat. I can't see how far the door goes to the rear but you'll probably need to go to the rear quarter, then clear the doors and rear quarter. if you were experienced you could probably stay on the rear door (need to see).
Jay D.
they say my name is Jay

Top Contributor
Australia
PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2020 5:52 am
By the time you repair that dent and feather out the paint you're going to be very close to the edge of the rear door. Generally I work on an absolute minimum of 200mm to blend, but with silvers you really need more.

Do the repair and then blend in to the front door, over at least 1/3 to 1/2 its length and curving the front edge of the blend down. On the rear door, blend to about 2/3 of its length. If you keep your repair tight you should not have to go above the body line at the top of the door, using the different angles of the panels to hide any variations.