2004 Sprinter van repaint

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2020 12:25 am
Newbie here,
2004 Sprinter van, long and tall 307K miles.
I tried to keep up with rust over the years with rattle can SprayMax 2k primer, rattle can base and SprayMax 2k clear. I would have had perforations if I didn't do that. Right now rust is not terrible, OEM paint is some kind of water borne, very thin and the body is not galvanized. Some of you might know that Sprinters are notorious for rust.

I am going to do a complete repaint this time, from gutter down ( roof go repainted a few years ago, still ok). I got AirGunsa anesta iwata gun for primer and Tekna ProLite for base and clear.

I used paint and rust remover disc on small rust bubbles. Treated small area with bare metal with FastEtch (zinc phosphate). My plan is to sand the van with 220, glaze putty the areas I stripped to bare metal, Epoxy Primer, base and clear.
I want to make sure that those tiny orange spots don't come back.

Epoxy Primer a good solution for my problem?

Some of the pinholes that orange/rust is coming out are so tiny, probably doesnt't make sense to strip it all to metal.
Thank you for your thoughts!!!
Attachments
VanPaint5.JPG
VanPaint4.JPG
VanPaint3.JPG
VanPaint2.JPG
VanPaint1.JPG

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2020 11:21 am
are those pin holes from something spot welded to the back side?
Jay D.
they say my name is Jay

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2020 2:35 pm
No welding,
OEM paint is very thin, any tiny rock chip results in an orange spot in a few months and then a small bubble.
Sometimes it doesn't even take a rock chip...
Attachments
VanPaint1.JPG

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2020 2:37 pm
The bigger spots by the wheel are areas I sanded before but not finished.

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2020 2:41 pm
Removed small orange spots and tiny bubbles on one side and treated with FastEtch.