Help, Primer Crack Like Mud :(

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

United Kingdom
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2020 2:56 pm
Hi all,

First post from across the pond so go easy eh!

Here goes, I am refurbishing some alloy wheels and I am having some primer issues on the last one - others turned out pretty good.

I think I may have gone a little heavy with the primer and possibly too many coats too trying to 'cover' my error.

I am not a pro so rookie mistake I think.

How do I rectify this?

https://ibb.co/2vVgFs0

Thanks.

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2020 6:55 pm
:welcome: your picture is to small I couldn't make it bigger. also you might name the products your using and a little bit about how you did it .
Jay D.
they say my name is Jay

Top Contributor
Australia
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2020 7:17 pm
Yes, rookie mistake - too much primer and probably uneven or forced drying.

Sand it all off and then repair the substrate, sanding out scratches and filling where necessary and feathering any edges. Get it smooth and straight before priming (which should only be 2-3 coats medium wet. Allow adequate flash times between coats (10-15 minutes at 20C) and a couple of hours to overnight after final coat. Assume you are using 1K/acrylic primer.

You can upload pictures to this site. They should be at least 800x600 so that we can see details. Thumbnails are pretty useless. The site will adjust display size for bigger pics but allow the reader to expand if required. See options at the bottom of the window when you're typing your post.
Chris

Non-Lurker

United Kingdom
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 12:15 am
Thanks guys for the replies.

I did try to upload a picture via the site but it didnt show up "The image file you tried to attach is invalid"

Hopefully bigger pic here https://ibb.co/6wmgq7h