Orange Peel- What are the causes?

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

United Kingdom
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2020 9:36 am
DSCN5294.JPG

DSCN5222.JPG

Hi,
I'm an enthusiastic amateur and like to do everything I can myself. I'm currently restoring a 1973 Morris 1100 (you guys call it an Austin America) and have just completed painting. I'm quite pleased with the result but there's patchy orange peel all over the car. Strangely, it's mostly the large flat panels, the corners are OK.

My question is how do I stop it hapenning? I'm using celulose paint as I don't have an air fed suit.

My technique is to aply a 50/50 mix of paint & thinners for 2 - 3 coats and a top coat of 25/75 paint & thinners, I read that the higher %age of thinners means the droplets of paint/thinners have more time to settle before the thinners evaporates. I apply the paint about 8 inches (thumb tip to little finger tip) from the body, I move the gun about 12 inches every second with a 50% overlap on the return sweep. The gun set up is everything (air, paint, needle) about halfway along the adjustment.

I've even tried to apply paint like they do on car shows (Fantom Works, Fast 'n' Loud etc.) i.e. quickly but then I don't get the coverage. I feel I have about 80% of the skill level required but no amount of practice seems to advance my skill set.

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2020 10:43 am
:welcome: I take it that your cellulose is what we over here call lacquer? O/P can be caused by many things. could you please list all you products, temp range of your thinners, your spraying temps and so on. COOL PROJECT! do you think you could send me a 1275 Mini, Cooper S would work. :happy:
Jay D.
they say my name is Jay

Non-Lurker

United Kingdom
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2020 3:25 am
Jay,