Hows this paint match?

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2021 10:13 pm
This is my first time really touching paint...I'm replacing the bumper cover and I really don't have the experience to blend the fenders, or at least I'm afraid of messing it up...

You can see in the image the body shop from the prior owner - the bumper cover doesn't match the fender, so they didnt blend there. I didn't even notice until I started taking photos...

So begs the question - if I didn't notice this before,, do you believe this match is close enough that I won't need to blend?

Or is there an option I could remix the paint with some (orange?). This paint card has no clear on it. Just one coat of base.

Thoughts?
Attachments
paintmatch.jpg

Top Contributor
Australia
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2021 10:24 pm
You can't colour match with just a single coat of base on a card.

The card needs to reflect exactly how you will paint the panel. So primer, x coats base and y coats clear, put on the same way that you will do the bar.

Even then you won't get a match. Metal and plastic absorb heat differently so the flake will not lay exactly the same way on the plastic as the metal, usually the plastic is a touch darker.
Chris

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2021 10:34 pm
NFT5 wrote:You can't colour match with just a single coat of base on a card.

The card needs to reflect exactly how you will paint the panel. So primer, x coats base and y coats clear, put on the same way that you will do the bar.

Even then you won't get a match. Metal and plastic absorb heat differently so the flake will not lay exactly the same way on the plastic as the metal, usually the plastic is a touch darker.

Thanks thats helpful to know.

I only have 2k clear in a rattle can...so its a one shot deal. Wonder if I should get myself some sprayable clearcoat then so I can keep practicing.