How toxic are 2K paints?

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Fully Engaged

New Zealand
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2021 2:02 am
Hi Guys. Long time lurker here. I've learnt a lot by reading your posts - thanks.

I'd like to use 2K primers and clears. Where I live we all seem to use PPG paints. I'd be painting in a garage with the door wide open, and would be wearing a 3M respirator plus gloves etc.

Just how bad for you are 2K paints? Being a hobbyist I don't have one of those supplied air setups. I don't mind the toluene or solvent aspects of paints, but are Isocyanates certain death :shocked:

I'd be doing small jobs such as one panel and stepping outside after each coat.

What are your thoughts?

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2021 4:10 am
No ones going to give you a answer, because of safety reasons.To give you a idea what can happen , iv been spraying 42 years . 2 years ago I decided to use a 3m mask , a proper one with charcoal filter and a change of filter every month.In exchange of my air fed mask because of glair on the visor.A year later iv had this constant cough. To day as I’m writing this I’m going back to a air fed mask. Hopefully this will clear up this cough. If not there’s your answer. Many people on this forum will be doing what you’re doing. Up to you good luck.
fail to prepare ,prepare to fail.

Top Contributor
Australia
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2021 6:55 am
Bill911 wrote: I'd be painting in a garage with the door wide open, and would be wearing a 3M respirator plus gloves etc.

Darwin Award candidate without adequate air exhaust/movement. The respirator filters would be overloaded in a single session.
Chris

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2021 1:09 pm