Setup help with my Iwata lph400

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2021 1:06 am
Hello, I have a iwata lph400lv 1.4, and I am spraying Omni plus Gem Green metallic, I am running 25 lbs of air pressure, full fluid, fan 1 turn in from full open, 50% overlap on passes, my speed on the passes is somewhat slow I'm trying to keep it wet without flooding, and I sprayed 2 coats of color ,I am painting my 69 chevelle and I am a hobbiest painter,
So far I painted my jams, trunk lid and hood, the trunk lid and jams came out great but my hood came out streaky , mottled.
My question is , #1, what maybe am I doing wrong with my technique?
#2 is my iwata to slow to paint my whole car? If so what would be a good gun to get
#3 if the iwata is ok to spray my car should I buy the orange cap? Or will the LV (silver cap be ok) I also have the 1.3 tip.
Thanks in advance

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2021 8:48 am
First question would be is your compressor putting out enough CFM to handle the spray gun?
Next question is what speed activator and reducer are you using?

I have done many complete car paint jobs with the LPH400 silver cap used for epoxy, base and clear. I use slow activator and reducer in all my paint jobs.

Not a fan of Omni paint. I used it one time and swore never again.

Stripes on the hood are normally from tipping the spray gun while trying to reach too far.
Gun must be kept perpendicular to the surface and the distance from the surface and the overlap consistent.

Personally, I have never seen the need to buy the Orange Cap.

Setting the gun up. I normally open the fluid knob all the way and then hold the trigger full open while turning the knob in just until I feel it start to lift the trigger. I then release the trigger and turn it 1/2 turn farther in.