DIY spray can painting issue

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

Slovenia
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2021 4:51 am
Hi guys,
I'm new to spray painting cars with rattle cans. I saw a video on you tube how to paint and thought I could do it myself cheaper than the shops. I painted my fenders which were affected by rust (used body filler and all that to get it smooth) and my trunk. I painted a little over the affected area expecting to blend the colour, but I have made a mistake by taping newspaper to close to the area I was painting. In result I now have horrendous paint lines on all of the painted areas. Note: I painted with a matched colour can mixed in a shop and also with a clear coat.

I know the mistake that was done and was wondering if it is possible to somehow still blend these lines on the panel or should I just give in and redo the paint job on the whole panel if it is not redeemable.

Left fender:
https://prnt.sc/158yrbm

Right Fender:
https://prnt.sc/15dewpi new photo

Trunk:
https://prnt.sc/158z0k9

I am grateful for any feedback from you guys. Please don't be to harsh.
(Sorry for bad English)
Last edited by Sine on Mon Jun 14, 2021 4:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top Contributor
Australia
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2021 8:31 am
You'll get lots of grief here for using spray cans but what's done is done.

Can it be fixed? Of course. With spray cans? Maybe, but you'll need to start with properly matched colour. What's in your pictures is awful. I'd also suggest getting some 2K clear in a can rather than what you used, which looks like just acrylic. Get yourself a proper mask for organic vapours while you're there.