Airbrushing Primer or Filler

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

Denmark
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2021 3:25 pm
TL;DR: I want to use automotive base layer for plastic scale models. I don't know what to buy. It needs to be very fine particles

(Disclaimer: I am a noob, so I imagine I will be using the wrong terminology here. When I say primer I mean 1. the layer that the paint will stick to 2. the layer that will show me where my putty work needs corrections 3. Filling out my 1500 grit sanding)

Hi, I just registered to ask this off topic question, so feel free to ignore me :) Although I hope it is OK for me to leech a little off of your accumulated wisdom

Back story:
I build models from 12" inches (30cm) to 35" (90cm), they have very fine details

I am getting tired of buying primer in 40ml jars (yes, 0.16 Cups) for USD 7.5 so I want to switch to automotive paints. But I get confused when I read about all the different kinds.

I found two primers, one is described as "Acrylic 2K Primer" the other as "2K Epoxy Primer".

The first contains
xylene
bisphenol-A-(epichlorhydrin), epoxy resin (number average molecular weight 700-1100)
methyl methacrylate
2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate

The second:
bisphenol-A-(epichlorhydrin), epoxy resin (number average molecular weight 700-1100) reaction product: bisphenol-A-(epichlorhydrin) epoxy resin (number average molecular weight =< 700)
Fatty acids,C18-unsatd., dimers, reaction products with N,N-dimethyl-1,3-propanediamine and1,3-Propanediamine

How do you guys find your way through this jungle? I can't really ask advice for specific products, because they would not be available here in Danmark, and I could not find any forums like this in my country?