1997 Dodge ram van 2500

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2021 8:26 pm
Hello. I am matte painting the vehicle in the subject line. This is my first project so i dont have any experience, a 1star level of knowledge.

I want to repaint the van a matte color. I researched that you can just paint over basecoat, but on the outside, the paint bleeds when you take a squeegee to it, the inside of the van on some spots on the roof and walls, if you spray spot cleaner on it the color instantly changes and wipes off a ton of yellow brown color nasty smelling old discoloration

I know terms like oxidation, but not experienced to call it what it is.

The van is a dark redish color, so it makes sense on the inside that the spots that almost just spray off are a brownish yellow color, makes me think this 25yr old vehicle is extremely oxidized in some sections.

Before i spraypaint the outside myself, i thought my first step should be to wetsand the whole vehicle with 800 or 1000 grit and remove the top layer of damaged or oxidized paint that bleeds when i use a squeegee on it.

Here are my comments on various sections of the picture
1 and 2 Sun reflection but paint job is spotty, covered in swirl marks from just handwashing the van and paint coming off
3. Same as 1 and 2 with various long scratches
4. Used a 800grit drill bit attached sand paper to wetsand. This caused a ton of bleeding that discolored my bucket of water and dripped down the side of the van turning the gutter cement red until wiped clean
5.wetsand with same drill bit sand paper, 800grit, but by hand(with 2 fingers)

Its my opinion that the paintjob is so old and soo much bleeding that this might not be a normal learning experience and that if im just going for an amateur paintjob for practice, that i should hand wetsand the van twice because it goes faster than using the drillbit attatchment.