1k Clear - sanded too much before polish

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2021 5:17 pm
Hi all,

New to the forums. I recently painted a 15 year old motorcycle using dupli-color products. Universal black and white, self-etching primer, and their 1k high gloss clear. After letting it cure for a couple weeks, I went to do the wet sand and buff, but I had to sand more than I wanted and the clear coat is looking very thin. I’d like to do another couple of coats of clear and then do a final cut and buff. This is where I’m having an issue. I painted about 10 medium size pieces of metal as samples since I’m new to this and wanted to be able to experiment. I tried doing another clear coat on one sample and it immediate got all cracked and wrinkly after application. Do I need to completely sand the clear coat off, or is there something I can do to be able to re-clear everything?
Last edited by Danielgarb8 on Mon Jul 19, 2021 6:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2021 5:23 pm
Are you just working with aerosol cans here or are you using their Paint Shop series in a regular spray gun setup?
Metal, wood, fiberglass, we work it all... www.furniturephysicians.com We can restore the irreplaceable!

Fully Engaged

New Zealand
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2021 5:27 pm
I'm guessing your samples didn't get a couple of weeks to cure. Can you experiment on the underside of the gas tank (now that it's had a couple of weeks to cure and degas) where it's not so important?

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2021 6:01 pm
The samples were painted at the same time as the tank, and yes, I’m using aerosol cans. I figured if it looks good, then Ike done, and if not, I was planning on having them done professionally anyways.

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2021 7:24 pm