Painting over laquer questions

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2021 6:45 am
Hi guys I have a 97 f150 that I painted about 2 years ago using dupli color paint which is a lacquer based paint I'm new to painting so I figured I would just use that for my first attempt considering it's a work truck but recently did some upgrades to the truck made it nice and now I'm looking to put a urethane enamel single stage paint on the truck, my question is the prep and primer I should use I know I have to sand the truck down obviously,
What kind of primer should I use over the lacquer?
Could I paint the urethane directly over the lacquer?
Any tips or tricks you could give me would be appreciated!!

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2021 8:34 am
So what did you put all that Dupli-Color over?
Metal, wood, fiberglass, we work it all... www.furniturephysicians.com We can restore the irreplaceable!

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2021 5:58 am
you have a few options for going over a solvent sensitive product.
you can strip it off .
or you can if it's good condition use a product like U-POL's barcoat this tends to be one of my 1st options.
the barcoat you can spray wet on wet meaning you can spray one coat of the barcoat getting full coverage then let it flash off and go right over it with a regular primer.

you can also use many water borne primers like glasurit 176-72 we will use this over some vehicles mirrors and door handles that tend to want to lift when painting them.

just read the TDS on the products you pick

No Turning Back

USA
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2021 7:03 am
The issue is: as Darrell asked, is how much paint is on the car now? If the lacquer is the only paint, you can probably go right over it. If it was over another paint job, I'd start stripping it.