Newbie here trying to get into painting as a hobbyist

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2021 4:11 pm
HI new to the forum and painting and was looking for some guidance. Figured this would be the best place.....Anyways I recently purchased a Devilbiss Plus and was told it was a great gun at a reasonable cost. Currently has a 1.4 tip and trying to see if thats good for primer, base and clear or should I go with the 1.3 tip? So Im looking for a PPS kit and was wondering if you all had some recommendations? Also I have a 30 gallon 150 PSI max at 8.6 scfm at 40 psi and 6.4 scfm at 90 psi will this spray gun work with it?

Any feedback, tips, parts I need would be great. For learning I have a few bumpers and a hardtop Im wanting to paint.

Thanks in advance!

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2021 4:21 pm
Welcome and glad you stopped here before spending any more money. It is always best to do your research first and then purchase your tools and products.

That being said, spend some time reading the articles in the Info Center and then the Sticky Posts at the top of each forum. We deal with a ton of questions that are asked over and over again by newbies and most of the information they need is already here.

After reading till your eyes hurt, you can also use the Search function for particular topics and questions.

Here's a link to get you started: https://www.autobody101.com/content/art ... ould-know/
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2021 4:24 pm
'68 Coronet R/T wrote:Welcome and glad you stopped here before spending any more money. It is always best to do your research first and then purchase your tools and products.