How do I get my panels to not be straight?

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2021 7:00 pm
So I see a lot of posts about how to get panels super straight (comes down to using a long sanding board mainly) but I haven't found any on how to get perfectly smooth crowns, such as are commonly found on 50's sports cars.

I've been using an 11" durabond block and a cross-hatch pattern while sanding. This does ok but I'm not getting that perfectly mirrored surface I'm after. Don't get me wrong... I'm a total beginner and the shine I'm putting on is way better than most cars I see. But I can still see little distortions in my reflections and I'm wondering if there are some tips for getting a little better.

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2021 10:48 pm
To get "razor sharp" images in a surface you need to get each layer hard blocked sanded flat. Practice your sanding on some misc. metal pieces. Make sure you are guide coating your primer and again try knocking it flat with a harder block under your sandpaper. What I see in your pic. with the arrow is like "cumulative mottling." It wasn't completely level in the primer so the base gets distorted and pulls in a direction, then the clear gets over that and mottles pulling other directions. And, you probably don't want to hear this but.... this is a bigger problem with turbine setups like yours than conventional guns. Until you really get your flowout tweeked just right the clears tend to wave/pool around. Coatings laid down by a turbine at this point in your learning curve needs even more hard blocking than usual..... I also think this is somewhat compounded because you are not using a higher solid clear with your more powerful 5 stage unit.
Metal, wood, fiberglass, we work it all... www.furniturephysicians.com We can restore the irreplaceable!

Fully Engaged

New Zealand
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2021 3:06 am
Jeeze, it's pretty darn good.