Abandoning Plastic Film for Paper

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

Canada
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2021 9:20 am
Well, this is my first attempt at painting and, all things considered, it's been fun and is going pretty well.
Well, it _was_ going well. I laid down the base coat on the weekend and had massive issues with the paint flaking off the plastic masking film (Plazmask). It said it was rated for auto painting. Did I simply do something wrong?

I managed to more or less recover until the final coat. At that point, a one-inch flake landed square on the hood. Done. :(

I finished putting the base on Sunday evening and started sanding it down again last night in preparation for laying on a couple of coats before the clear.

Two questions:
1) I've picked up a roll of masking paper which I will use to replace the film. Is there something I could have done, or can do this time, that will reduce the risk of kicking the flakes off between coats?
2) When I started sanding last night, I'm using 400 grit, the paint kinda rolls off. Does it need more time to set? I was able to clean up the areas that I sanded but I want to ensure I'm not making more work for myself and, more importantly, not making things worse.

Thanks.

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2021 9:41 am
Never heard of that brand however most of them are one sided. You have to have the "Paint this Side" label up.

Some guys put masking paper along the paint edge and then plastic over the rest.

Here's what I use and never had a problem.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/131590641206?s ... 1438.l2649
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Settled In

Canada
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2021 10:13 am