Need advice on my sanded down hood.

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2021 2:59 pm
20211028_125302.jpg
hood 2
I'm a mechanic and am new to autobody and have really learned a lot since beginning this hood. I really need some advice on how to proceed.

I made a mistake of using to coarse a grit and ended up exposing a lot of metal and really complicating things. I'm just trying to get it ready for paint. I have included 4 pictures showing the hood in its current state.

I exposed the metal on the edges of the hood as you can see in the pictures.
20211028_130225.jpg
hood 4

I bought a used hood in decent condition the only problem was the paint was very bubbled and not smooth at all.

I attempted to strip all the black bubbled paint off with 60 grit. When I got it all off I went to 80 grit then 120 grit. I block sanded with all grits.

The hood is smoothed out now my only problem is I exposed a lot of metal sanding it with 60 and 80 grit.

I have a few questions on how to proceed. I was originally going to fill the dent by where the left grill goes using Bondo gold. Then after that was done I was going to use rustoleum etch primer on the exposed metal Then follow up with a rustoleum 2 in 1 filler/sand primer over the entire hood. I was then going to sand the filler primer with 400 then finish with rustoleum sealer primer then sand that with 400.

I have since learned that etch primer can't be used on the existing oem primer and can only be sprayed on metal as it will cause chipping and problems later.

I have since decided that I should just finish sanding it with 180 grit and primer the entire hood with Eastwood 2k epoxy primer. I don't have a spray gun so I would be using their aero product.

I do have a small area to fill with Bondo where the left grill goes. My plan is to use Bondo gold on the bare metal and then seal it with primer.

Any advice is appreciated.

20211028_125312.jpg
hood 1