Problems Stripping to Bare Metal

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2022 2:09 pm
I'm working to recondition my 1996 Thunderbird and would like some advice. I've already read hundreds of posts on this forum (and others, too) but I've run into some issues that I am not qualified to explain on my own, since I've never done any body work or paint before.

I am the original owner but stopped driving the car more than 10 years ago. I left it outside without any care at all, so the paint is now shot. I'm not trying to make it a show car, I just want it to look good enough to not be an embarrassment. Some areas just need new clearcoat, but some areas have basecoat damage, and some (the roof, in particular) have surface rust. It's the roof that is causing me the most trouble at the moment.

Stripping the roof down to bare metal has been more difficult than I expected... and having no prior experience, I have no idea whether my expectations are just unreasonable, or if I am doing something wrong. It would be great to have someone come over and look at what I am doing to let me know, but since I can't do that, I thought maybe I could upload some pictures, tell you what I've done, and ask you folks what you think.

PhotoA1a.jpg
basecoat damage

The photo above is an example of some of the non-rust damage on the roof... white marks in the black paint. FYI, the lower area in the photo is after scuffing with a scotch-brite pad (which did nothing to the marks), and the upper area in the photo is after sanding (by hand) which enlarged the marks. From there I concluded the marks were the primer showing through damaged basecoat, so I have removed (most of) the basecoat using (I think) P400 (wet, I think) on a sanding block. (I say I "think" because I tried a lot of different things on different parts of the car, and they are all starting to blur.) Anyway, removing the basecoat wasn't a problem.

PhotoA2a.jpg